Plants in The Middle East


The Friday Update
June 13, 2008, 10:09 am
Filed under: Carnivorous, Indoor, Perennials

I’m hoping that I’ll be able to post a regular Friday update.  Here is the first one.

1. New seedling updates

I planted fresh seeds of several types of plants on the 9th (5 days ago) and the Polka Dots have already sprouted!

This is what they should look like fully grown:

Photo courtesy of Amazon.com

Nothing else to report on this front.  Yet to see some progress from the Sundews, Coleus’ and Sugar plants.  Will sow the Birds of Paradise today having been soaked in water for 5 days.

2. Coleus – Batch B update

Must have misplaced my Sharpie, so my finger will have to do.  Growing very nicely under my plant lights.

This batch has some yellow in it, besides the typical red/maroon.  I’m hoping my new batch (not locally bought) will show different colors.

Again, compared to some of their peers some are still lagging behind in growth.

3. Venus Fly Traps

Growing nicely and flowering.  I have two flowering simultaneously so I may leave them and then cross pollinate and plant the seeds.  I’m dooming the plants by letting them flower but it’s all for the sake of learning and experimenting.

The flower stalk is the long one in the middle (pictured above).

That wraps it up.  My yellow sunflower has a brand new flower but I didn’t take pictures yet and its too hot at the moment!

I’ll leave you with a fun quote – “I used to play sports.  Then I found out you can buy trophies. Now I’m good at everything”.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

